skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Competitive House Seats / Bills Out of Committee

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Out of Committee

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in 2013 that got past committee and to the floor for consideration. Most bills and resolutions languish in committee without any action.

Competitive House Seats
most often
#1 3 Rep. Dan Benishek [R-MI1, 2011-2016]
#1 3 Rep. Michael Grimm [R-NY11, 2013-2014]
#1 3 Rep. Joseph Heck [R-NV3, 2011-2016]
#1 3 Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH6]
#5 2 Rep. Jon Runyan [R-NJ3, 2011-2014]
#6 1 Rep. Mike Coffman [R-CO6, 2009-2018]
#6 1 Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ2]
#6 1 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#6 1 Rep. Tom Latham [R-IA3, 2013-2014]
#6 1 Rep. Michael Michaud [D-ME2, 2003-2014]
#6 1 Rep. Richard Nolan [D-MN8, 2013-2018]
#6 1 Rep. Frank Wolf [R-VA10, 1981-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Ron Barber [D-AZ2, 2013-2014]
#13 0 Rep. John Barrow [D-GA12, 2005-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#13 0 Rep. Timothy Bishop [D-NY1, 2003-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#13 0 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#13 0 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#13 0 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#13 0 Rep. William Enyart [D-IL12, 2013-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick [R-PA8, 2011-2016]
#13 0 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Christopher Gibson [R-NY19, 2013-2016]
#13 0 Rep. Tim Griffin [R-AR2, 2011-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#13 0 Rep. Mike McIntyre [D-NC7, 1997-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#13 0 Rep. William Owens [D-NY21, 2013-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#13 0 Rep. Nick Rahall [D-WV3, 1993-2014]
#13 0 Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY23]
#13 0 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#13 0 Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL10]
#13 0 Rep. Carol Shea-Porter [D-NH1, 2017-2018]
#13 0 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#13 0 Rep. Steve Southerland [R-FL2, 2011-2014]
#13 0 Rep. John Tierney [D-MA6, 1997-2014]
#13 0 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#13 0 Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI7]
#13 0 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.