skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Competitive House Seats / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2013.

Competitive House Seats
most bills
#1 359 Rep. Michael Michaud [D-ME2, 2003-2014]
#2 353 Rep. Carol Shea-Porter [D-NH1, 2017-2018]
#3 300 Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH6]
#4 295 Rep. William Enyart [D-IL12, 2013-2014]
#5 263 Rep. Tim Griffin [R-AR2, 2011-2014]
#6 238 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#7 235 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#8 231 Rep. John Tierney [D-MA6, 1997-2014]
#9 220 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#10 218 Rep. Timothy Bishop [D-NY1, 2003-2014]
#11 210 Rep. Michael Grimm [R-NY11, 2013-2014]
#12 204 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#13 202 Rep. Dan Benishek [R-MI1, 2011-2016]
#14 194 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#15 190 Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI7]
#16 189 Rep. Mike Coffman [R-CO6, 2009-2018]
#16 189 Rep. Tom Latham [R-IA3, 2013-2014]
#18 186 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#19 184 Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick [R-PA8, 2011-2016]
#20 183 Rep. William Owens [D-NY21, 2013-2014]
#20 183 Rep. Nick Rahall [D-WV3, 1993-2014]
#22 181 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#23 175 Rep. Mike McIntyre [D-NC7, 1997-2014]
#24 169 Rep. Christopher Gibson [R-NY19, 2013-2016]
#25 167 Rep. Richard Nolan [D-MN8, 2013-2018]
#26 166 Rep. Ron Barber [D-AZ2, 2013-2014]
#27 165 Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ2]
#28 158 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#29 157 Rep. Joseph Heck [R-NV3, 2011-2016]
#30 153 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#31 146 Rep. Jon Runyan [R-NJ3, 2011-2014]
#32 144 Rep. Steve Southerland [R-FL2, 2011-2014]
#33 138 Rep. Frank Wolf [R-VA10, 1981-2014]
#34 133 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#35 126 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#35 126 Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY23]
#37 107 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#38 105 Rep. Bradley “Brad” Schneider [D-IL10]
#39 103 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#40 99 Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#41 97 Rep. John Barrow [D-GA12, 2005-2014]
#42 91 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#43 62 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.