skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Competitive House Seats / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2013.

Competitive House Seats
most cosponsors
#1 758 Rep. Michael Grimm [R-NY11, 2013-2014]
#2 436 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#3 327 Rep. Christopher Gibson [R-NY19, 2013-2016]
#4 315 Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick [R-PA8, 2011-2016]
#5 309 Rep. Joseph Heck [R-NV3, 2011-2016]
#6 280 Rep. Tim Griffin [R-AR2, 2011-2014]
#7 275 Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY23]
#8 260 Rep. Frank Wolf [R-VA10, 1981-2014]
#9 225 Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#10 224 Rep. Dan Benishek [R-MI1, 2011-2016]
#11 219 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#12 208 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#13 166 Rep. Timothy Bishop [D-NY1, 2003-2014]
#14 154 Rep. Tom Latham [R-IA3, 2013-2014]
#15 149 Rep. Michael Michaud [D-ME2, 2003-2014]
#16 140 Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ2]
#17 128 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#18 118 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#19 115 Rep. John Tierney [D-MA6, 1997-2014]
#20 113 Rep. Jon Runyan [R-NJ3, 2011-2014]
#21 110 Rep. Nick Rahall [D-WV3, 1993-2014]
#21 110 Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI7]
#23 105 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#24 102 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#25 96 Rep. Ron Barber [D-AZ2, 2013-2014]
#26 92 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#27 83 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#28 71 Rep. Mike McIntyre [D-NC7, 1997-2014]
#29 69 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#30 63 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#31 62 Rep. William Enyart [D-IL12, 2013-2014]
#32 61 Rep. William Owens [D-NY21, 2013-2014]
#33 58 Rep. Mike Coffman [R-CO6, 2009-2018]
#34 56 Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH6]
#35 51 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
#36 48 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#37 47 Rep. Carol Shea-Porter [D-NH1, 2017-2018]
#38 36 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#39 24 Rep. John Barrow [D-GA12, 2005-2014]
#39 24 Rep. Richard Nolan [D-MN8, 2013-2018]
#41 21 Rep. Steve Southerland [R-FL2, 2011-2014]
#42 10 Rep. Bradley “Brad” Schneider [D-IL10]
#43 9 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.