skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Leadership Score

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Leadership Score

Our unique leadership analysis looks at who is cosponsoring whose bills. A higher score shows a greater ability to get cosponsors on bills.

House Freshmen
top leader
#1 0.77 Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA8]
#2 0.72 Rep. Trey Radel [R-FL19, 2013-2014]
#3 0.70 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#4 0.68 Rep. Ron DeSantis [R-FL6, 2013-2018]
#5 0.68 Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC8]
#6 0.64 Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#7 0.63 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#8 0.62 Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC11, 2013-2020]
#9 0.58 Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA4]
#10 0.57 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#11 0.57 Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI2]
#12 0.55 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#13 0.53 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#14 0.50 Rep. Chris Collins [R-NY27, 2013-2019]
#15 0.50 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#16 0.50 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#17 0.50 Rep. Doug Collins [R-GA9]
#18 0.48 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#19 0.48 Rep. Scott Perry [R-PA10]
#20 0.47 Rep. Chris Stewart [R-UT2]
#21 0.47 Rep. Susan Brooks [R-IN5]
#22 0.47 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#23 0.46 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#24 0.46 Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL21]
#25 0.46 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#26 0.45 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#27 0.45 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#28 0.45 Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY6]
#29 0.43 Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL3]
#30 0.43 Rep. Kerry Bentivolio [R-MI11, 2013-2014]
#31 0.42 Rep. John Delaney [D-MD6, 2013-2018]
#32 0.42 Rep. Garland “Andy” Barr [R-KY6]
#33 0.42 Rep. Jim Bridenstine [R-OK1, 2013-2018]
#34 0.40 Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH3]
#35 0.40 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#36 0.39 Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA6]
#37 0.39 Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK2]
#38 0.39 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#39 0.37 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#40 0.37 Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL2]
#41 0.36 Rep. Keith Rothfus [R-PA12, 2013-2018]
#42 0.36 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#43 0.35 Rep. William Enyart [D-IL12, 2013-2014]
#44 0.35 Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC7]
#45 0.35 Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV4]
#46 0.35 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#47 0.35 Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY8]
#48 0.32 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#49 0.31 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#50 0.30 Rep. David Joyce [R-OH14]
#51 0.29 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#52 0.29 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#53 0.28 Rep. Robert Pittenger [R-NC9, 2013-2018]
#54 0.28 Rep. Tulsi Gabbard [D-HI2]
#55 0.28 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#56 0.28 Rep. Luke Messer [R-IN6, 2013-2018]
#57 0.25 Rep. Gloria Negrete McLeod [D-CA35, 2013-2014]
#58 0.24 Rep. Ann Wagner [R-MO2]
#59 0.22 Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham [D-NM1, 2013-2018]
#60 0.20 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#61 0.19 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#62 0.18 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#63 0.17 Rep. Elizabeth Esty [D-CT5, 2013-2018]
#64 0.17 Rep. George Holding [R-NC2]
#65 0.16 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#66 0.16 Rep. Bradley “Brad” Schneider [D-IL10]
#67 0.11 Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI5]
#68 0.09 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#69 0.07 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#70 0.04 Sen. Kevin Cramer [R-ND]
#71 0.04 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#72 0.04 Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA5]
#72 0.04 Rep. Vance McAllister [R-LA5, 2013-2014]
#74 0.04 Rep. Denny Heck [D-WA10]
#75 0.00 Rep. Jason Smith [R-MO8]
#76 0.00 Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH2]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. A leadership score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in 2013 is considered, the leadership scores here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.