skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
California Delegation / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2013.

California Delegation
most bills
#1 459 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#2 377 Rep. Michael “Mike” Honda [D-CA17, 2013-2016]
#3 343 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#4 322 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#5 307 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#6 294 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#7 285 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#8 254 Rep. Sam Farr [D-CA20, 2013-2016]
#8 254 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#10 235 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#10 235 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#12 229 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#13 225 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#14 222 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#15 220 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#16 214 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#17 211 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#18 205 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#19 200 Rep. Lois Capps [D-CA24, 2013-2016]
#19 200 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#21 190 Rep. Janice Hahn [D-CA44, 2013-2016]
#22 186 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#22 186 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#24 183 Rep. Henry Waxman [D-CA33, 2013-2014]
#25 181 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#26 172 Rep. Gloria Negrete McLeod [D-CA35, 2013-2014]
#27 169 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#28 165 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#29 164 Rep. George Miller [D-CA11, 2013-2014]
#30 151 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#31 148 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#32 144 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#33 140 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#34 139 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#35 136 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#36 129 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#36 129 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#38 126 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#38 126 Rep. Loretta Sanchez [D-CA46, 2013-2016]
#40 119 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#41 112 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#42 107 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#43 99 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#44 85 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#45 83 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#46 82 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#47 81 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#48 62 Rep. John Campbell [R-CA45, 2013-2014]
#48 62 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
#50 57 Rep. Howard “Buck” McKeon [R-CA25, 1993-2014]
#51 51 Rep. Xavier Becerra [D-CA34, 2013-2017]
#52 27 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#53 23 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.