skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
California Delegation / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2013.

California Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 916 Rep. Royce [R-CA39]
#2 854 Rep. Lee [D-CA13]
#3 578 Rep. Miller [D-CA11]
#4 539 Rep. Bass [D-CA37]
#5 462 Rep. Sánchez [D-CA38]
#6 431 Rep. Speier [D-CA14]
#7 406 Rep. Hunter [R-CA50]
#8 401 Rep. Waters [D-CA43]
#9 314 Rep. Lofgren [D-CA19]
#10 264 Rep. Honda [D-CA17]
#11 259 Rep. Capps [D-CA24]
#12 241 Rep. Chu [D-CA27]
#13 213 Rep. Davis [D-CA53]
#14 209 Rep. Issa [R-CA49]
#15 208 Rep. Peters [D-CA52]
#16 197 Rep. Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#17 166 Rep. Nunes [R-CA22]
#18 163 Rep. Thompson [D-CA5]
#19 144 Rep. LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#20 136 Rep. Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#21 127 Rep. McClintock [R-CA4]
#22 125 Rep. Matsui [D-CA6]
#23 123 Rep. Schiff [D-CA28]
#24 114 Rep. McKeon [R-CA25]
#25 105 Rep. Valadao [R-CA21]
#26 103 Rep. Napolitano [D-CA32]
#27 96 Rep. Farr [D-CA20]
#28 95 Rep. Rohrabacher [R-CA48]
#29 92 Rep. Brownley [D-CA26]
#29 92 Rep. Denham [R-CA10]
#31 87 Rep. Swalwell [D-CA15]
#32 86 Rep. Hahn [D-CA44]
#33 83 Rep. Ruiz [D-CA36]
#34 77 Rep. Sherman [D-CA30]
#35 74 Rep. McNerney [D-CA9]
#36 69 Rep. Bera [D-CA7]
#37 65 Rep. Cook [R-CA8]
#38 60 Rep. Waxman [D-CA33]
#39 59 Rep. Costa [D-CA16]
#40 58 Rep. Eshoo [D-CA18]
#41 55 Rep. Vargas [D-CA51]
#42 54 Rep. Calvert [R-CA42]
#43 51 Rep. Miller [R-CA31]
#44 46 Rep. Negrete McLeod [D-CA35]
#45 42 Rep. Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#46 30 Rep. Garamendi [D-CA3]
#47 29 Rep. McCarthy [R-CA23]
#48 19 Rep. Takano [D-CA41]
#49 17 Rep. Pelosi [D-CA12]
#50 11 Rep. Becerra [D-CA34]
#51 8 Rep. Huffman [D-CA2]
#52 3 Rep. Sanchez [D-CA46]
#53 0 Rep. Campbell [R-CA45]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.