skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Texas Delegation / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2013.

Texas Delegation
most bills
#1 289 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#2 227 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#3 215 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2, 2005-2018]
#4 213 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#5 200 Rep. Rubén Hinojosa [D-TX15, 1997-2016]
#6 199 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29, 1993-2018]
#7 197 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27, 2011-2018]
#8 189 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#9 188 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#10 185 Rep. Steve Stockman [R-TX36, 2013-2014]
#11 183 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#12 170 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#13 168 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#14 167 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#15 160 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#16 151 Rep. Ralph Hall [R-TX4, 1981-2014]
#17 148 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#18 146 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#19 142 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#20 141 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#21 131 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#22 130 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#23 118 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7, 2001-2018]
#24 114 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6, 1985-2018]
#25 113 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#26 107 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#27 103 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#28 101 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#29 97 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3, 1991-2018]
#30 91 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#31 88 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#32 86 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#32 86 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#34 83 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#35 75 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#36 72 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.