skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Texas Delegation / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2013.

Texas Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 617 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#2 563 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2, 2005-2018]
#3 553 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3, 1991-2018]
#4 437 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#5 417 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#6 366 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#7 298 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#8 273 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#9 267 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#10 261 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#11 252 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#12 222 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#13 191 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#14 176 Rep. Ralph Hall [R-TX4, 1981-2014]
#15 134 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#16 95 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#17 83 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#18 79 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#19 75 Rep. Rubén Hinojosa [D-TX15, 1997-2016]
#20 73 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#20 73 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#22 72 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#23 62 Rep. Steve Stockman [R-TX36, 2013-2014]
#24 54 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29, 1993-2018]
#25 46 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#26 42 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#27 26 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6, 1985-2018]
#28 25 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7, 2001-2018]
#28 25 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#30 22 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#31 11 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#32 10 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#33 9 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#34 4 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#34 4 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27, 2011-2018]
#36 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.