skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2013.

Senate Democrats
most bills
#1 272 Sen. Begich [D-AK]
#2 248 Sen. Blumenthal [D-CT]
#3 239 Sen. Markey [D-MA]
#4 232 Sen. Gillibrand [D-NY]
#5 231 Sen. Klobuchar [D-MN]
#6 215 Sen. Whitehouse [D-RI]
#7 211 Sen. Schatz [D-HI]
#8 207 Sen. Franken [D-MN]
#9 197 Sen. Durbin [D-IL]
#10 196 Sen. Boxer [D-CA]
#11 188 Sen. Coons [D-DE]
#12 182 Sen. Tester [D-MT]
#13 179 Sen. Schumer [D-NY]
#14 174 Sen. Cardin [D-MD]
#15 166 Sen. Warren [D-MA]
#16 164 Sen. Brown [D-OH]
#16 164 Sen. Merkley [D-OR]
#18 163 Sen. Shaheen [D-NH]
#19 159 Sen. Landrieu [D-LA]
#20 150 Sen. Wyden [D-OR]
#21 147 Sen. Harkin [D-IA]
#22 144 Sen. Feinstein [D-CA]
#22 144 Sen. Murphy [D-CT]
#24 143 Sen. Heinrich [D-NM]
#25 141 Sen. Hirono [D-HI]
#25 141 Sen. Murray [D-WA]
#27 140 Sen. Menendez [D-NJ]
#28 136 Sen. Johnson [D-SD]
#29 132 Sen. Casey [D-PA]
#29 132 Sen. Mikulski [D-MD]
#29 132 Sen. Udall [D-NM]
#32 129 Sen. Leahy [D-VT]
#32 129 Sen. Stabenow [D-MI]
#34 116 Sen. Hagan [D-NC]
#34 116 Sen. Nelson [D-FL]
#36 113 Sen. Reed [D-RI]
#37 106 Sen. Baldwin [D-WI]
#37 106 Sen. Bennet [D-CO]
#39 104 Sen. Udall [D-CO]
#40 102 Sen. Baucus [D-MT]
#40 102 Sen. Levin [D-MI]
#40 102 Sen. Manchin [D-WV]
#43 101 Sen. Heitkamp [D-ND]
#43 101 Sen. Pryor [D-AR]
#45 99 Sen. Rockefeller [D-WV]
#46 98 Sen. Warner [D-VA]
#47 92 Sen. Cantwell [D-WA]
#48 84 Sen. McCaskill [D-MO]
#49 73 Sen. Kaine [D-VA]
#50 68 Sen. Carper [D-DE]
#51 59 Sen. Donnelly [D-IN]
#52 48 Sen. Reid [D-NV]
#53 8 Sen. Booker [D-NJ]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.