skip to main content

2013 Report Cards: Senate Democrats

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in 2013. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

Senate Democrats
most often
#1 8 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#2 7 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#3 6 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#4 5 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#5 4 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#6 3 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#6 3 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#6 3 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#6 3 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#6 3 Sen. Mark Udall [D-CO, 2009-2014]
#6 3 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#6 3 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#13 2 Sen. Max Baucus [D-MT, 1978-2014]
#13 2 Sen. Mark Begich [D-AK, 2009-2014]
#13 2 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#13 2 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#13 2 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#13 2 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#13 2 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#13 2 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#13 2 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#13 2 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#23 1 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#23 1 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#23 1 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#23 1 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#23 1 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#23 1 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#23 1 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#23 1 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#23 1 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#23 1 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#23 1 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#23 1 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#23 1 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#23 1 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#37 0 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#37 0 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#37 0 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#37 0 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#37 0 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#37 0 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#37 0 Sen. Kay Hagan [D-NC, 2009-2014]
#37 0 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#37 0 Sen. Timothy Kaine [D-VA]
#37 0 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#37 0 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menéndez [D-NJ]
#37 0 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#37 0 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#37 0 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#37 0 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#37 0 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#37 0 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.