skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2013.

Senate Republicans
most bills
#1 209 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#2 207 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#3 186 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#4 181 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#5 175 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#6 170 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#7 169 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#8 163 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#9 162 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#10 160 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#10 160 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#12 157 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#12 157 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#14 151 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV, 2011-2018]
#15 149 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#16 148 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#17 146 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#18 142 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#19 141 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#20 138 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#20 138 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#22 136 Sen. Mike Johanns [R-NE, 2009-2014]
#23 132 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#24 130 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#24 130 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#26 128 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#27 122 Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#28 109 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#29 98 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#30 97 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#30 97 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#32 95 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#32 95 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#32 95 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#35 94 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#36 89 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#37 86 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#38 84 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#39 83 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ, 2013-2018]
#40 76 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#41 72 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#42 66 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#42 66 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#44 54 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#45 27 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.