skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2013.

Senate Republicans
most cosponsors
#1 242 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#2 214 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#3 194 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#4 180 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#5 179 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#6 178 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#7 176 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#8 161 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#9 159 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#10 152 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#11 145 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#12 143 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#13 142 Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#14 135 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#15 129 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#16 123 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#16 123 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#18 121 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#19 120 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#20 117 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#21 108 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#22 106 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#23 105 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#24 104 Sen. Mike Johanns [R-NE, 2009-2014]
#25 92 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#26 88 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#27 82 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#28 81 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#29 77 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV, 2011-2018]
#30 74 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#31 71 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#32 67 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#33 66 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#34 50 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ, 2013-2018]
#35 45 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#36 33 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#37 31 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#38 26 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#39 25 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#40 21 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#41 18 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#42 16 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#43 11 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#44 6 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#45 0 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.