skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Senate Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2013.

Senate Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most bills
#1 231 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#2 207 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#3 196 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#4 179 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#5 174 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#6 170 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#7 169 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#8 163 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#9 162 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#10 160 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#10 160 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#12 159 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#13 157 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#14 150 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#15 149 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#16 147 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#17 146 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#18 144 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#19 141 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#20 140 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#21 138 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#22 136 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#23 132 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#23 132 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#25 130 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#26 129 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#26 129 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#26 129 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#29 128 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#30 122 Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#31 116 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#32 109 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#33 102 Sen. Max Baucus [D-MT, 1978-2014]
#33 102 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#35 99 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#36 97 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#37 95 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#38 92 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#39 68 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#40 54 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#41 27 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.