skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2013.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most cosponsors
#1 514 Sen. Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 384 Sen. Harkin [D-IA]
#3 343 Sen. Brown [D-OH]
#4 339 Sen. Reid [D-NV]
#5 303 Sen. Landrieu [D-LA]
#6 290 Sen. Casey [D-PA]
#7 280 Sen. Cardin [D-MD]
#8 273 Sen. Reed [D-RI]
#9 269 Sen. Tester [D-MT]
#10 257 Sen. Klobuchar [D-MN]
#11 249 Sen. Boxer [D-CA]
#12 242 Sen. Hatch [R-UT]
#13 231 Sen. Durbin [D-IL]
#14 226 Sen. Leahy [D-VT]
#15 216 Sen. Schumer [D-NY]
#16 214 Sen. Cornyn [R-TX]
#17 202 Sen. Wyden [D-OR]
#18 197 Sen. Nelson [D-FL]
#19 195 Sen. Baucus [D-MT]
#20 194 Sen. Vitter [R-LA]
#21 180 Sen. Carper [D-DE]
#22 179 Sen. Wicker [R-MS]
#23 176 Sen. Graham [R-SC]
#24 172 Sen. Feinstein [D-CA]
#25 162 Sen. Murray [D-WA]
#26 159 Sen. Barrasso [R-WY]
#27 152 Sen. Enzi [R-WY]
#28 147 Sen. Rockefeller [D-WV]
#29 145 Sen. Stabenow [D-MI]
#29 145 Sen. Thune [R-SD]
#31 142 Sen. Coburn [R-OK]
#32 132 Sen. Sanders [I-VT]
#33 123 Sen. Roberts [R-KS]
#34 121 Sen. Collins [R-ME]
#35 118 Sen. Pryor [D-AR]
#36 108 Sen. McConnell [R-KY]
#36 108 Sen. Whitehouse [D-RI]
#38 105 Sen. Alexander [R-TN]
#39 96 Sen. Cantwell [D-WA]
#40 93 Sen. Levin [D-MI]
#41 92 Sen. Murkowski [R-AK]
#42 88 Sen. Inhofe [R-OK]
#43 82 Sen. Grassley [R-IA]
#44 81 Sen. Shelby [R-AL]
#45 76 Sen. McCaskill [D-MO]
#46 74 Sen. Isakson [R-GA]
#47 72 Sen. Mikulski [D-MD]
#48 67 Sen. Burr [R-NC]
#49 66 Sen. Coats [R-IN]
#50 31 Sen. Cochran [R-MS]
#51 30 Sen. Johnson [D-SD]
#52 26 Sen. Sessions [R-AL]
#53 25 Sen. Corker [R-TN]
#54 18 Sen. McCain [R-AZ]
#55 16 Sen. Chambliss [R-GA]
#56 6 Sen. Crapo [R-ID]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.