skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Leadership Score

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Leadership Score

Our unique leadership analysis looks at who is cosponsoring whose bills. A higher score shows a greater ability to get cosponsors on bills.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
top leader
#1 1.00 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 0.89 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#3 0.89 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#4 0.88 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#5 0.81 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#6 0.81 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#7 0.80 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#8 0.78 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#9 0.76 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#10 0.76 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#11 0.75 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#12 0.75 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#13 0.74 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#14 0.74 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#15 0.73 Sen. Max Baucus [D-MT, 1978-2014]
#16 0.72 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#17 0.72 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#18 0.70 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#19 0.69 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#20 0.67 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#21 0.67 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#22 0.64 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#23 0.63 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#24 0.62 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#25 0.62 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#26 0.61 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#27 0.60 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#28 0.59 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#29 0.57 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#30 0.54 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#31 0.54 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#32 0.53 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#33 0.52 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#34 0.51 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#35 0.50 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#36 0.49 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#37 0.48 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#38 0.47 Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#39 0.45 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#40 0.44 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#41 0.44 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#42 0.42 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#43 0.42 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#44 0.41 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#45 0.39 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#46 0.39 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#47 0.36 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#48 0.34 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#49 0.33 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#50 0.19 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#51 0.19 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#52 0.18 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#53 0.16 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#54 0.16 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#55 0.11 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#56 0.03 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. A leadership score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in 2013 is considered, the leadership scores here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.