skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Missed Votes

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Missed Votes

The percentage of votes each legislator missed in 2013.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most absent
#1 14.1% Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#2 9.3% Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#2 9.3% Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#4 8.2% Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#5 6.9% Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#6 6.5% Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#7 5.5% Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#7 5.5% Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#9 4.8% Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#10 4.5% Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#11 4.1% Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#12 3.8% Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#12 3.8% Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#14 3.4% Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#15 3.1% Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#15 3.1% Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#15 3.1% Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#18 2.7% Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#18 2.7% Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#18 2.7% Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#21 2.4% Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#21 2.4% Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#21 2.4% Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#21 2.4% Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#25 2.1% Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#26 1.7% Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#26 1.7% Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#26 1.7% Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#29 1.0% Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#29 1.0% Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#29 1.0% Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#29 1.0% Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#29 1.0% Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#29 1.0% Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#29 1.0% Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#36 0.7% Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#36 0.7% Sen. Max Baucus [D-MT, 1978-2014]
#36 0.7% Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#36 0.7% Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#40 0.3% Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#40 0.3% Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#40 0.3% Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#40 0.3% Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#40 0.3% Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#40 0.3% Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#40 0.3% Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#40 0.3% Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#48 0.0% Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#48 0.0% Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#48 0.0% Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#48 0.0% Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#48 0.0% Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#48 0.0% Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#48 0.0% Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#48 0.0% Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#48 0.0% Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
Export to CSV...

The Speaker of the House is not included in this statistic because according to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, and the delegates from the five island territories and the District of Columbia are also not included because they were not elligible to vote in any roll call votes.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.