skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Competitive House Seats

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in the 113th Congress. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

Competitive House Seats
most laws
#1 4 Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH6]
#11 1 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#11 1 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#11 1 Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#11 1 Rep. Mike McIntyre [D-NC7, 1997-2014]
#11 1 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#11 1 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#11 1 Rep. Tom Latham [R-IA3, 2013-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#18 0 Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL10]
#18 0 Rep. Carol Shea-Porter [D-NH1]
#18 0 Rep. Christopher Gibson [R-NY19, 2013-2016]
#18 0 Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
#18 0 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#18 0 Rep. Frank Wolf [R-VA10, 1981-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#18 0 Rep. John Barrow [D-GA12, 2005-2014]
#18 0 Rep. John Tierney [D-MA6, 1997-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Jon Runyan [R-NJ3, 2011-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#18 0 Rep. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ9]
#18 0 Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick [R-PA8, 2011-2016]
#18 0 Rep. Michael Michaud [D-ME2, 2003-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Nick Rahall [D-WV3, 1993-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#18 0 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#18 0 Rep. Ron Barber [D-AZ2, 2013-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Steve Southerland [R-FL2, 2011-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Tim Griffin [R-AR2, 2011-2014]
#18 0 Rep. Timothy Bishop [D-NY1, 2003-2014]
#18 0 Rep. William Enyart [D-IL12, 2013-2014]
#18 0 Rep. William Owens [D-NY21, 2013-2014]
#18 0 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#2 3 Rep. Dan Benishek [R-MI1, 2011-2016]
#2 3 Rep. Mike Coffman [R-CO6]
#2 3 Rep. Richard Nolan [D-MN8]
#5 2 Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ1, 2013-2016]
#5 2 Rep. Joseph Heck [R-NV3, 2011-2016]
#5 2 Rep. Michael Grimm [R-NY11, 2013-2014]
#5 2 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#5 2 Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI7]
#5 2 Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY23]
Export to CSV...

A bill or joint resolution is considered enacted if it or an exactly identical bill to it is enacted as law. We only consider bills that the legislator was the primary sponsor of. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, such as through incorporation into larger bills, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.