skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
Competitive House Seats / Bills Cosponsored

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in the 113th Congress.

Competitive House Seats
most bills
#1 609 Rep. Carol Shea-Porter [D-NH1, 2017-2018]
#2 487 Rep. William Enyart [D-IL12, 2013-2014]
#3 486 Rep. Michael Michaud [D-ME2, 2003-2014]
#4 445 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#5 427 Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH6]
#6 423 Rep. Tim Griffin [R-AR2, 2011-2014]
#7 422 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#8 388 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#9 378 Rep. John Tierney [D-MA6, 1997-2014]
#10 359 Rep. Timothy Bishop [D-NY1, 2003-2014]
#10 359 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#12 342 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#13 318 Rep. Michael Grimm [R-NY11, 2013-2014]
#14 312 Rep. Christopher Gibson [R-NY19, 2013-2016]
#15 311 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#16 303 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#17 302 Rep. Mike Coffman [R-CO6, 2009-2018]
#18 297 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#19 296 Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick [R-PA8, 2011-2016]
#20 294 Rep. Dan Benishek [R-MI1, 2011-2016]
#20 294 Rep. Richard Nolan [D-MN8, 2013-2018]
#22 285 Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ2]
#23 284 Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI7]
#24 282 Rep. Nick Rahall [D-WV3, 1993-2014]
#25 274 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#26 269 Rep. Ron Barber [D-AZ2, 2013-2014]
#27 264 Rep. William Owens [D-NY21, 2013-2014]
#28 258 Rep. Tom Latham [R-IA3, 2013-2014]
#29 252 Rep. Mike McIntyre [D-NC7, 1997-2014]
#30 248 Rep. Steve Southerland [R-FL2, 2011-2014]
#31 239 Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#32 237 Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY23]
#33 236 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#34 223 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#35 217 Rep. Joseph Heck [R-NV3, 2011-2016]
#36 211 Rep. Bradley “Brad” Schneider [D-IL10]
#37 206 Rep. Frank Wolf [R-VA10, 1981-2014]
#38 194 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#39 188 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#39 188 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#41 182 Rep. Jon Runyan [R-NJ3, 2011-2014]
#42 165 Rep. John Barrow [D-GA12, 2005-2014]
#43 139 Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
#44 98 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.