skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Competitive House Seats

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in the 113th Congress. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

Competitive House Seats
most often
#1 2 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#1 2 Rep. William Enyart [D-IL12, 2013-2014]
#3 1 Rep. Carol Shea-Porter [D-NH1]
#3 1 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#3 1 Rep. Michael Michaud [D-ME2, 2003-2014]
#3 1 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#7 0 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#7 0 Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ1, 2013-2016]
#7 0 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#7 0 Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH6]
#7 0 Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL10]
#7 0 Rep. Christopher Gibson [R-NY19, 2013-2016]
#7 0 Rep. Dan Benishek [R-MI1, 2011-2016]
#7 0 Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
#7 0 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#7 0 Rep. Frank Wolf [R-VA10, 1981-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#7 0 Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. John Barrow [D-GA12, 2005-2014]
#7 0 Rep. John Tierney [D-MA6, 1997-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Jon Runyan [R-NJ3, 2011-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Joseph Heck [R-NV3, 2011-2016]
#7 0 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#7 0 Rep. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ9]
#7 0 Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick [R-PA8, 2011-2016]
#7 0 Rep. Michael Grimm [R-NY11, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Mike Coffman [R-CO6]
#7 0 Rep. Mike McIntyre [D-NC7, 1997-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Nick Rahall [D-WV3, 1993-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#7 0 Rep. Richard Nolan [D-MN8]
#7 0 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#7 0 Rep. Ron Barber [D-AZ2, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#7 0 Rep. Steve Southerland [R-FL2, 2011-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Tim Griffin [R-AR2, 2011-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI7]
#7 0 Rep. Timothy Bishop [D-NY1, 2003-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Tom Latham [R-IA3, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY23]
#7 0 Rep. William Owens [D-NY21, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.