skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
California Delegation / Bills Cosponsored

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in the 113th Congress.

California Delegation
most bills
#1 730 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#2 662 Rep. Michael “Mike” Honda [D-CA17, 2013-2016]
#3 588 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#4 525 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#5 495 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#6 486 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#7 471 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#8 422 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#9 419 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#10 412 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#11 388 Rep. Sam Farr [D-CA20, 2013-2016]
#11 388 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#13 382 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#13 382 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#15 376 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#16 370 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#17 367 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#18 366 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#19 331 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#20 329 Rep. Gloria Negrete McLeod [D-CA35, 2013-2014]
#21 325 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#22 316 Rep. Janice Hahn [D-CA44, 2013-2016]
#23 314 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#24 306 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#25 305 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#26 303 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#27 295 Rep. Henry Waxman [D-CA33, 2013-2014]
#28 291 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#29 275 Rep. Lois Capps [D-CA24, 2013-2016]
#30 270 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#31 266 Rep. George Miller [D-CA11, 2013-2014]
#32 265 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#33 240 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#34 236 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#35 232 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#36 227 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#37 226 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#38 222 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#39 214 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#40 198 Rep. Loretta Sanchez [D-CA46, 2013-2016]
#41 196 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#42 188 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#43 158 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#44 154 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#45 149 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#46 142 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#47 117 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#48 107 Rep. John Campbell [R-CA45, 2013-2014]
#49 99 Rep. Howard “Buck” McKeon [R-CA25, 1993-2014]
#50 98 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
#51 86 Rep. Xavier Becerra [D-CA34, 2013-2017]
#52 45 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#53 44 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.