skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
California Delegation / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 113th Congress.

California Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 1381 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#2 1148 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#3 1017 Rep. George Miller [D-CA11, 2013-2014]
#4 917 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#5 766 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#6 668 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#7 618 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#8 470 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50]
#8 470 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#10 459 Rep. Lois Capps [D-CA24, 2013-2016]
#11 431 Rep. Michael “Mike” Honda [D-CA17, 2013-2016]
#12 407 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#13 385 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#14 372 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#15 346 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#16 328 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#17 312 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#18 308 Rep. Gary Miller [R-CA31, 2013-2014]
#19 306 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#20 278 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#21 226 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#22 216 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#23 203 Rep. Howard “Buck” McKeon [R-CA25, 1993-2014]
#24 202 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#25 198 Rep. Janice Hahn [D-CA44, 2013-2016]
#26 193 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#27 186 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#28 179 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#29 159 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#30 158 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#31 157 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#32 153 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#33 151 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#34 132 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#34 132 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#36 130 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#37 121 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#38 118 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#39 114 Rep. Henry Waxman [D-CA33, 2013-2014]
#40 104 Rep. Sam Farr [D-CA20, 2013-2016]
#41 99 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#42 93 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#43 85 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#44 83 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#44 83 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#46 74 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#47 56 Rep. Loretta Sanchez [D-CA46, 2013-2016]
#48 50 Rep. Gloria Negrete McLeod [D-CA35, 2013-2014]
#49 49 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#50 47 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#51 22 Rep. Xavier Becerra [D-CA34, 2013-2017]
#52 17 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#53 5 Rep. John Campbell [R-CA45, 2013-2014]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.