skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Florida Delegation

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Missed Votes

The percentage of votes each legislator missed in the 113th Congress.

Florida Delegation
most absent
#1 9.7% Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL20]
#2 7.5% Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL23]
#3 6.1% Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen [R-FL27, 2013-2018]
#4 5.7% Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart [R-FL25]
#5 5.6% Rep. Corrine Brown [D-FL5, 2013-2016]
#6 5.2% Rep. Jeff Miller [R-FL1, 2001-2016]
#7 5.1% Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL14]
#8 4.4% Rep. Vern Buchanan [R-FL16]
#9 3.5% Rep. Joe Garcia [D-FL26, 2013-2014]
#10 3.4% Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL22]
#11 3.3% Rep. Daniel Webster [R-FL11]
#12 3.0% Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL21]
#13 2.9% Rep. Alan Grayson [D-FL9, 2013-2016]
#14 2.8% Rep. Richard Nugent [R-FL11, 2013-2016]
#15 2.7% Rep. Ander Crenshaw [R-FL4, 2001-2016]
#16 2.5% Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL24]
#17 1.8% Rep. Gus Bilirakis [R-FL12]
#18 1.7% Rep. Thomas Rooney [R-FL17, 2013-2018]
#19 1.5% Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#20 1.2% Rep. Steve Southerland [R-FL2, 2011-2014]
#21 0.8% Rep. Dennis Ross [R-FL15, 2013-2018]
#22 0.7% Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL3]
#23 0.5% Rep. Curtis “Curt” Clawson [R-FL19, 2014-2016]
#24 0.4% Rep. Bill Posey [R-FL8]
#25 0.3% Rep. Ron DeSantis [R-FL6, 2013-2018]
#26 0.1% Rep. John Mica [R-FL7, 1993-2016]
#27 0.0% Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
Export to CSV...

The Speaker of the House is not included in this statistic because according to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, and the delegates from the five island territories and the District of Columbia are also not included because they were not elligible to vote in any roll call votes.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.