skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
Texas Delegation / Government Transparency

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in the 113th Congress. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

Texas Delegation
most often
#1 3 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#2 1 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#2 1 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27, 2011-2018]
#2 1 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#2 1 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#2 1 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2, 2005-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6, 1985-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#7 0 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#7 0 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#7 0 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#7 0 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#7 0 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7, 2001-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#7 0 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#7 0 Rep. Pete Gallego [D-TX23, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#7 0 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#7 0 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#7 0 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29, 1993-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Ralph Hall [R-TX4, 1981-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Rubén Hinojosa [D-TX15, 1997-2016]
#7 0 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#7 0 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3, 1991-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#7 0 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#7 0 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#7 0 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#7 0 Rep. Steve Stockman [R-TX36, 2013-2014]
#7 0 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#7 0 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#7 0 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#7 0 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#7 0 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.