skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Bills Cosponsored

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in the 113th Congress.

Senate Democrats
most bills
#1 449 Sen. Mark Begich [D-AK, 2009-2014]
#2 403 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#3 398 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#4 384 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#5 375 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#6 358 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#7 354 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#8 338 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#9 334 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#10 322 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#11 317 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#12 316 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#13 310 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#13 310 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#15 300 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#16 292 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#17 288 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#18 270 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#19 269 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#19 269 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#21 258 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#22 250 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#22 250 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#24 248 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#24 248 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#26 242 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#27 238 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#28 235 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#29 234 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#30 229 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#31 226 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#32 220 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#33 215 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#34 205 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#35 201 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#36 199 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#37 195 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#38 192 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#38 192 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#40 188 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#41 187 Sen. Kay Hagan [D-NC, 2009-2014]
#42 186 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#42 186 Sen. Mark Udall [D-CO, 2009-2014]
#44 179 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#45 174 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#46 166 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#47 160 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#48 149 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#49 144 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#50 130 Sen. John Walsh [D-MT, 2014-2014]
#51 112 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#52 111 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#53 95 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.