skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 113th Congress.

Senate Democrats
most cosponsors
#1 894 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 809 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#3 584 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#4 578 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#5 553 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#6 481 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#7 466 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#8 457 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#9 456 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#10 443 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#11 432 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#12 411 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#13 410 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#14 399 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#15 392 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#16 370 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#17 346 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#18 342 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#19 326 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#20 319 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#21 309 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#22 295 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#23 279 Sen. Mark Begich [D-AK, 2009-2014]
#24 273 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#25 254 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#26 241 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#27 233 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#27 233 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#29 231 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#30 227 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#31 214 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#32 212 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#33 207 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#34 196 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#35 184 Sen. Kay Hagan [D-NC, 2009-2014]
#36 181 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#37 177 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#38 165 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#39 164 Sen. Mark Udall [D-CO, 2009-2014]
#40 144 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#41 111 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#42 106 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#43 94 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#44 88 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#45 84 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#46 83 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#47 80 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#48 79 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#49 72 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#50 58 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#51 54 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#52 53 Sen. John Walsh [D-MT, 2014-2014]
#53 23 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.