skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Senate Republicans

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Committee Positions

A score, giving five points for each full committee leadership position and one point for each subcommittee leadership position, for each legislator.

Senate Republicans
most committee positions
#1 8 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#1 8 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#3 7 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#3 7 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#3 7 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#6 6 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#6 6 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#6 6 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#6 6 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#6 6 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#6 6 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#6 6 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#6 6 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#6 6 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#6 6 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#16 5 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#16 5 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#16 5 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#16 5 Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#16 5 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#21 3 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#21 3 Sen. Mike Johanns [R-NE, 2009-2014]
#21 3 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#21 3 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#21 3 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#26 2 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#26 2 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#26 2 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#26 2 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV]
#26 2 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#26 2 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ]
#26 2 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#26 2 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#26 2 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#26 2 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#26 2 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#26 2 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#26 2 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#26 2 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#26 2 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#41 1 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#41 1 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#41 1 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#41 1 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#45 0 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.