skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Senate Republicans

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency bills that we identified in the 113th Congress. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

Senate Republicans
most supportive
#1 5 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#2 4 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#3 2 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#3 2 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#3 2 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#6 1 Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#6 1 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#6 1 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#6 1 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#6 1 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#6 1 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS]
#6 1 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#6 1 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#6 1 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV]
#6 1 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#6 1 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#6 1 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#6 1 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#19 0 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#19 0 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#19 0 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#19 0 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#19 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#19 0 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#19 0 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#19 0 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#19 0 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#19 0 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#19 0 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#19 0 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#19 0 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#19 0 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#19 0 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#19 0 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#19 0 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#19 0 Sen. Mike Johanns [R-NE, 2009-2014]
#19 0 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#19 0 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#19 0 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#19 0 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#19 0 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#19 0 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ]
#19 0 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#19 0 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#19 0 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.