skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Senate Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Powerful Cosponsors

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in the 113th Congress that had a cosponsor who was a chair or ranking member of a committee that the bill was referred to. Getting support from committee leaders on relevant committees is a crucial step in moving legislation forward.

Senate Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most often
#1 20 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menéndez [D-NJ]
#2 12 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#3 10 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#4 9 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#4 9 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#4 9 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#7 8 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#7 8 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#7 8 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#10 7 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#11 6 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#11 6 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#11 6 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#11 6 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#11 6 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#16 5 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#16 5 Sen. Thomas Coburn [R-OK, 2005-2014]
#16 5 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#16 5 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL]
#16 5 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#21 4 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#21 4 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#21 4 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#21 4 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#21 4 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#26 3 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#26 3 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#26 3 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#26 3 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#26 3 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#31 2 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#31 2 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#31 2 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#34 1 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#34 1 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#34 1 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#34 1 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#34 1 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#39 0 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#39 0 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#39 0 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.