skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Serving 10+ Years (Senate)

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in the 113th Congress. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most bills
#1 7 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menéndez [D-NJ]
#2 6 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#2 6 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#4 4 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#4 4 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#6 3 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#6 3 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS]
#6 3 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#6 3 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#6 3 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#6 3 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#12 2 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#12 2 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#12 2 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#12 2 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#12 2 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#12 2 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#12 2 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#12 2 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#12 2 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#12 2 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#12 2 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#12 2 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL]
#12 2 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#25 1 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#25 1 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#25 1 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#25 1 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#25 1 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#25 1 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#25 1 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#25 1 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO]
#25 1 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#25 1 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#25 1 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#25 1 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#25 1 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#25 1 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#25 1 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#25 1 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#25 1 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#42 0 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#42 0 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#42 0 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#42 0 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#42 0 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#42 0 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#42 0 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#42 0 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#42 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#42 0 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#42 0 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#42 0 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#42 0 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
Export to CSV...

A bill or joint resolution is considered enacted if it or an exactly identical bill to it is enacted as law. We only consider bills that the legislator was the primary sponsor of. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, such as through incorporation into larger bills, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.