skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Bills Introduced

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Introduced

The number of bills each legislator introduced in the 113th Congress.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most bills
#1 107 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 85 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#3 80 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#4 78 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#5 69 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#5 69 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#5 69 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#8 67 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#8 67 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#10 66 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#11 64 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#12 60 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#13 59 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#13 59 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#15 58 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#16 57 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#17 54 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#17 54 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#19 49 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#19 49 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#21 48 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#22 47 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#23 44 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#23 44 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#25 37 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#25 37 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#25 37 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#28 35 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#29 33 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#29 33 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#31 32 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#32 31 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#32 31 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#34 29 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#34 29 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#36 28 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY, 1997-2020]
#37 27 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN, 2003-2020]
#37 27 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS, 1997-2020]
#39 26 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#40 24 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#40 24 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#42 21 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#42 21 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#44 19 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#45 18 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#45 18 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#47 16 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#48 14 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#49 11 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#50 10 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#51 8 Sen. Michael “Mike” Crapo [R-ID]
#51 8 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#51 8 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#54 7 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.