skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Bills Cosponsored

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in the 113th Congress.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most bills
#1 375 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#2 354 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#3 337 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#4 334 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#5 317 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#6 316 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#7 310 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#8 300 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#9 283 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#10 282 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#11 277 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#12 275 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#13 270 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#13 270 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#15 269 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#15 269 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#17 258 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#18 256 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#19 252 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#19 252 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#21 250 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#22 248 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#23 243 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#24 241 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#25 238 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#26 237 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#26 237 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#28 234 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#29 229 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#30 226 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#31 217 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#32 215 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#32 215 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#34 209 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#35 207 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#36 205 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#37 199 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#38 197 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#39 192 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#40 186 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#41 179 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#42 174 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#43 166 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#43 166 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#43 166 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#46 156 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#47 154 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#48 150 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#49 149 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#50 141 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#51 111 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#52 95 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#52 95 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#54 51 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.