skip to main content

2014 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 113th Congress.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most cosponsors
#1 894 Sen. Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 584 Sen. Harkin [D-IA]
#3 578 Sen. Brown [D-OH]
#4 553 Sen. Leahy [D-VT]
#5 481 Sen. Durbin [D-IL]
#6 466 Sen. Boxer [D-CA]
#7 457 Sen. Klobuchar [D-MN]
#8 456 Sen. Landrieu [D-LA]
#9 432 Sen. Tester [D-MT]
#10 411 Sen. Casey [D-PA]
#11 399 Sen. Reed [D-RI]
#12 392 Sen. Cardin [D-MD]
#13 370 Sen. Reid [D-NV]
#14 365 Sen. Sanders [I-VT]
#15 342 Sen. Schumer [D-NY]
#16 326 Sen. Wyden [D-OR]
#17 312 Sen. Cornyn [R-TX]
#18 311 Sen. Hatch [R-UT]
#19 305 Sen. Graham [R-SC]
#20 295 Sen. Murray [D-WA]
#21 286 Sen. Vitter [R-LA]
#22 278 Sen. Barrasso [R-WY]
#23 269 Sen. McConnell [R-KY]
#24 268 Sen. Collins [R-ME]
#25 254 Sen. Nelson [D-FL]
#26 247 Sen. Alexander [R-TN]
#27 241 Sen. Stabenow [D-MI]
#28 240 Sen. Enzi [R-WY]
#29 233 Sen. Feinstein [D-CA]
#29 233 Sen. Whitehouse [D-RI]
#31 227 Sen. Cantwell [D-WA]
#31 227 Sen. Thune [R-SD]
#33 214 Sen. Pryor [D-AR]
#34 207 Sen. Carper [D-DE]
#35 201 Sen. Wicker [R-MS]
#36 196 Sen. Rockefeller [D-WV]
#37 192 Sen. Roberts [R-KS]
#38 187 Sen. Inhofe [R-OK]
#39 181 Sen. Levin [D-MI]
#40 152 Sen. Murkowski [R-AK]
#41 147 Sen. Sessions [R-AL]
#42 144 Sen. Mikulski [D-MD]
#43 128 Sen. Grassley [R-IA]
#44 111 Sen. McCaskill [D-MO]
#45 103 Sen. Coats [R-IN]
#46 99 Sen. Burr [R-NC]
#47 94 Sen. McCain [R-AZ]
#48 90 Sen. Isakson [R-GA]
#49 81 Sen. Shelby [R-AL]
#50 79 Sen. Johnson [D-SD]
#51 63 Sen. Corker [R-TN]
#52 52 Sen. Cochran [R-MS]
#53 20 Sen. Chambliss [R-GA]
#54 9 Sen. Crapo [R-ID]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.