skip to main content

2014 Report Cards: Serving 10+ Years (Senate)

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 113th Congress (Jan 3, 2013-Jan 2, 2015), as of Jan 12, 2015.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in the 113th Congress. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most often
#1 8 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#2 7 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#3 5 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#4 3 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#4 3 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#4 3 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#4 3 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#4 3 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#4 3 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#10 2 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#10 2 Sen. Thomas “Tom” Harkin [D-IA, 1985-2014]
#10 2 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#13 1 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#13 1 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menéndez [D-NJ]
#13 1 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D-LA, 1997-2014]
#13 1 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#13 1 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#13 1 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#13 1 Sen. Carl Levin [D-MI, 1979-2014]
#13 1 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#13 1 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#13 1 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#13 1 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#13 1 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#13 1 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#13 1 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO]
#13 1 Sen. Tim Johnson [D-SD, 1997-2014]
#13 1 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#13 1 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#13 1 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#13 1 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#13 1 Sen. John “Jay” Rockefeller [D-WV, 1985-2014]
#13 1 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#13 1 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#35 0 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#35 0 Sen. Saxby Chambliss [R-GA, 2003-2014]
#35 0 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#35 0 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#35 0 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#35 0 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#35 0 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#35 0 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#35 0 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#35 0 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#35 0 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#35 0 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#35 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#35 0 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#35 0 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL]
#35 0 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#35 0 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#35 0 Sen. Mark Pryor [D-AR, 2003-2014]
#35 0 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#35 0 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 113th Congress) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.