skip to main content

2015 Report Cards: House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

Page Icon


Bills Out of Committee

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in 2015 that got past committee and to the floor for consideration. Most bills and resolutions languish in committee without any action.

House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most often
#1 12 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32]
#2 11 Rep. Virginia Foxx [R-NC5]
#3 9 Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH1]
#4 8 Rep. Bob Goodlatte [R-VA6]
#4 8 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#4 8 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21]
#7 7 Rep. Jeff Miller [R-FL1, 2001-2016]
#7 7 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#9 5 Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS2]
#9 5 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#9 5 Rep. Jason Chaffetz [R-UT3, 2009-2017]
#12 4 Rep. Bill Shuster [R-PA9]
#12 4 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#14 3 Rep. Candice Miller [R-MI10, 2003-2016]
#14 3 Rep. Paul Ryan [R-WI1]
#14 3 Rep. Christopher “Chris” Smith [R-NJ4]
#17 2 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#17 2 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#17 2 Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI6]
#17 2 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#17 2 Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK3]
#17 2 Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD7]
#17 2 Rep. John Kline [R-MN2, 2003-2016]
#17 2 Rep. Corrine Brown [D-FL5, 2013-2016]
#17 2 Rep. Tom Price [R-GA6, 2005-2017]
#26 1 Rep. Sander Levin [D-MI9]
#26 1 Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY16]
#26 1 Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ6]
#26 1 Rep. Gregg Harper [R-MS3]
#26 1 Rep. Louise Slaughter [D-NY25, 2013-2018]
#26 1 Rep. Charles Dent [R-PA15, 2005-2018]
#26 1 Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC10]
#26 1 Rep. John “Jimmy” Duncan [R-TN2]
#26 1 Rep. Nydia Velázquez [D-NY7]
#26 1 Rep. Rob Bishop [R-UT1]
#26 1 Rep. Trey Gowdy [R-SC4]
#26 1 Rep. Raúl Grijalva [D-AZ3]
#26 1 Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR4]
#26 1 Rep. Marsha Blackburn [R-TN7]
#26 1 Rep. Todd Rokita [R-IN4]
#41 0 Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA9]
#41 0 Rep. John Conyers [D-MI13, 2013-2017]
#41 0 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#41 0 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#41 0 Rep. Robert “Bobby” Scott [D-VA3]
#41 0 Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY17]
#41 0 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#41 0 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#41 0 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#41 0 Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN7]
#41 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5]
#41 0 Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers [R-KY5]
#41 0 Rep. Robert Brady [D-PA1]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.