skip to main content

2015 Report Cards: House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

Page Icon


Working with the Other Chamber

The House and Senate often work on the same issue simultaneously by introducing companion bills in each chamber. This is the number of bills introduced by each legislator in 2015 that had a companion bill in the other chamber. Working with a sponsor in the other chamber makes a bill more likely to be passed by both the House and Senate.

House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most bills
#1 8 Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD7]
#2 7 Rep. Raúl Grijalva [D-AZ3]
#3 6 Rep. Todd Rokita [R-IN4]
#4 5 Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ6]
#5 4 Rep. Robert “Bobby” Scott [D-VA3]
#5 4 Rep. Paul Ryan [R-WI1]
#5 4 Rep. Sander Levin [D-MI9]
#8 3 Rep. Louise Slaughter [D-NY25, 2013-2018]
#8 3 Rep. Charles Dent [R-PA15, 2005-2018]
#8 3 Rep. Virginia Foxx [R-NC5]
#8 3 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32]
#8 3 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#8 3 Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH1]
#8 3 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21]
#8 3 Rep. Christopher “Chris” Smith [R-NJ4]
#8 3 Rep. John Kline [R-MN2, 2003-2016]
#8 3 Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR4]
#8 3 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#8 3 Rep. Tom Price [R-GA6, 2005-2017]
#8 3 Rep. Gregg Harper [R-MS3]
#21 2 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#21 2 Rep. Jeff Miller [R-FL1, 2001-2016]
#21 2 Rep. Candice Miller [R-MI10, 2003-2016]
#21 2 Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY16]
#21 2 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#21 2 Rep. John Conyers [D-MI13, 2013-2017]
#21 2 Rep. Bob Goodlatte [R-VA6]
#21 2 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#21 2 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#21 2 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#21 2 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#21 2 Rep. Marsha Blackburn [R-TN7]
#33 1 Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS2]
#33 1 Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA9]
#33 1 Rep. Bill Shuster [R-PA9]
#33 1 Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC10]
#33 1 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#33 1 Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK3]
#33 1 Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY17]
#33 1 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#33 1 Rep. Rob Bishop [R-UT1]
#33 1 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#33 1 Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers [R-KY5]
#33 1 Rep. Jason Chaffetz [R-UT3, 2009-2017]
#33 1 Rep. Corrine Brown [D-FL5, 2013-2016]
#46 0 Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI6]
#46 0 Rep. John “Jimmy” Duncan [R-TN2]
#46 0 Rep. Nydia Velázquez [D-NY7]
#46 0 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#46 0 Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN7]
#46 0 Rep. Trey Gowdy [R-SC4]
#46 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5]
#46 0 Rep. Robert Brady [D-PA1]
Export to CSV...

Companion bills are those that are identified as “identical” by Congress’s Congressional Research Service.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.