skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2015.

House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most bills
#1 599 Rep. Raúl Grijalva [D-AZ3]
#2 405 Rep. John Conyers [D-MI13, 2013-2017]
#3 349 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#4 345 Rep. Louise Slaughter [D-NY25, 2013-2018]
#5 287 Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR4]
#6 284 Rep. Corrine Brown [D-FL5, 2013-2016]
#7 281 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#8 257 Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY16]
#9 244 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#10 233 Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD7, 1996-2019]
#11 232 Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN7]
#12 229 Sen. Marsha Blackburn [R-TN]
#13 225 Rep. Jeff Miller [R-FL1, 2001-2016]
#14 219 Rep. Robert “Bobby” Scott [D-VA3]
#15 210 Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH1]
#16 202 Rep. John “Jimmy” Duncan [R-TN2, 1988-2018]
#17 199 Rep. Robert Brady [D-PA1, 1998-2018]
#18 193 Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA9]
#19 192 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#20 189 Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY17]
#21 186 Rep. Sander Levin [D-MI9, 2013-2018]
#22 179 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#23 178 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#24 171 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#25 169 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#26 164 Rep. John Kline [R-MN2, 2003-2016]
#27 163 Rep. Gregg Harper [R-MS3, 2009-2018]
#28 159 Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS2]
#29 157 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#30 156 Rep. Todd Rokita [R-IN4, 2011-2018]
#31 153 Rep. Christopher “Chris” Smith [R-NJ4]
#32 149 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#33 140 Rep. Nydia Velázquez [D-NY7]
#34 139 Rep. Bob Goodlatte [R-VA6, 1993-2018]
#35 134 Rep. Candice Miller [R-MI10, 2003-2016]
#35 134 Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ6]
#37 123 Rep. Rob Bishop [R-UT1]
#37 123 Rep. Charles Dent [R-PA15, 2005-2018]
#37 123 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#40 115 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#41 113 Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK3]
#41 113 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#43 93 Rep. Tom Price [R-GA6, 2005-2017]
#44 87 Rep. Trey Gowdy [R-SC4, 2011-2018]
#45 85 Rep. Bill Shuster [R-PA9, 2001-2018]
#46 83 Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC10]
#47 80 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#48 78 Rep. Jason Chaffetz [R-UT3, 2009-2017]
#49 71 Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI6]
#50 61 Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers [R-KY5]
#51 59 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#52 52 Rep. Virginia Foxx [R-NC5]
#53 34 Rep. Paul Ryan [R-WI1, 1999-2018]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.