skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2015.

House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most cosponsors
#1 888 Rep. Christopher “Chris” Smith [R-NJ4]
#2 727 Rep. Bob Goodlatte [R-VA6, 1993-2018]
#3 684 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#4 620 Rep. Raúl Grijalva [D-AZ3]
#5 584 Rep. Robert “Bobby” Scott [D-VA3]
#6 503 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#7 472 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#8 467 Rep. John Conyers [D-MI13, 2013-2017]
#9 438 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#10 424 Rep. Charles Dent [R-PA15, 2005-2018]
#11 399 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#12 388 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#13 377 Rep. Tom Price [R-GA6, 2005-2017]
#14 373 Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY16]
#15 361 Rep. Bill Shuster [R-PA9, 2001-2018]
#16 340 Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH1]
#17 326 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#18 300 Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY17]
#19 272 Rep. Jason Chaffetz [R-UT3, 2009-2017]
#20 261 Rep. Louise Slaughter [D-NY25, 2013-2018]
#21 260 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#22 252 Sen. Marsha Blackburn [R-TN]
#22 252 Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ6]
#24 251 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#25 230 Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI6]
#26 191 Rep. John Kline [R-MN2, 2003-2016]
#27 181 Rep. Jeff Miller [R-FL1, 2001-2016]
#28 175 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#29 171 Rep. Candice Miller [R-MI10, 2003-2016]
#30 168 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#31 162 Rep. Todd Rokita [R-IN4, 2011-2018]
#32 157 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#33 154 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#34 151 Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR4]
#35 128 Rep. Sander Levin [D-MI9, 2013-2018]
#36 121 Rep. Gregg Harper [R-MS3, 2009-2018]
#37 117 Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD7, 1996-2019]
#38 108 Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA9]
#39 104 Rep. Rob Bishop [R-UT1]
#40 102 Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC10]
#41 93 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#42 82 Rep. Corrine Brown [D-FL5, 2013-2016]
#42 82 Rep. Nydia Velázquez [D-NY7]
#44 61 Rep. John “Jimmy” Duncan [R-TN2, 1988-2018]
#45 60 Rep. Virginia Foxx [R-NC5]
#46 48 Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS2]
#47 44 Rep. Trey Gowdy [R-SC4, 2011-2018]
#48 38 Rep. Paul Ryan [R-WI1, 1999-2018]
#49 34 Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK3]
#50 2 Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN7]
#51 1 Rep. Robert Brady [D-PA1, 1998-2018]
#52 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#52 0 Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers [R-KY5]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.