skip to main content

2015 Report Cards: House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in 2015. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most often
#1 9 Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD7]
#2 7 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#3 6 Rep. Jason Chaffetz [R-UT3, 2009-2017]
#4 4 Rep. John “Jimmy” Duncan [R-TN2]
#5 3 Rep. Louise Slaughter [D-NY25, 2013-2018]
#5 3 Rep. Raúl Grijalva [D-AZ3]
#5 3 Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR4]
#8 2 Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ6]
#8 2 Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY16]
#8 2 Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA9]
#8 2 Rep. John Conyers [D-MI13, 2013-2017]
#8 2 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32]
#8 2 Rep. Robert “Bobby” Scott [D-VA3]
#8 2 Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY17]
#8 2 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#8 2 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#8 2 Rep. Robert Brady [D-PA1]
#18 1 Rep. Sander Levin [D-MI9]
#18 1 Rep. Candice Miller [R-MI10, 2003-2016]
#18 1 Rep. Jeff Miller [R-FL1, 2001-2016]
#18 1 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#18 1 Rep. Paul Ryan [R-WI1]
#18 1 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#18 1 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5]
#18 1 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21]
#18 1 Rep. Corrine Brown [D-FL5, 2013-2016]
#27 0 Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS2]
#27 0 Rep. Gregg Harper [R-MS3]
#27 0 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#27 0 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#27 0 Rep. Charles Dent [R-PA15, 2005-2018]
#27 0 Rep. Bob Goodlatte [R-VA6]
#27 0 Rep. Bill Shuster [R-PA9]
#27 0 Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC10]
#27 0 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#27 0 Rep. Virginia Foxx [R-NC5]
#27 0 Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI6]
#27 0 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#27 0 Rep. Nydia Velázquez [D-NY7]
#27 0 Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK3]
#27 0 Rep. Rob Bishop [R-UT1]
#27 0 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#27 0 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#27 0 Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH1]
#27 0 Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN7]
#27 0 Rep. Trey Gowdy [R-SC4]
#27 0 Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers [R-KY5]
#27 0 Rep. Christopher “Chris” Smith [R-NJ4]
#27 0 Rep. John Kline [R-MN2, 2003-2016]
#27 0 Rep. Marsha Blackburn [R-TN7]
#27 0 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#27 0 Rep. Tom Price [R-GA6, 2005-2017]
#27 0 Rep. Todd Rokita [R-IN4]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.