skip to main content

2015 Report Cards: House Freshmen

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

Page Icon


Powerful Cosponsors

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in 2015 that had a cosponsor who was a chair or ranking member of a committee that the bill was referred to. Getting support from committee leaders on relevant committees is a crucial step in moving legislation forward.

House Freshmen
most often
#1 7 Rep. Martha McSally [R-AZ2]
#1 7 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#3 5 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#3 5 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4]
#3 5 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#6 4 Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#6 4 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#6 4 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#6 4 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26]
#6 4 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#11 3 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#11 3 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#11 3 Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#11 3 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#11 3 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#11 3 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#11 3 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#18 2 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11]
#18 2 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8]
#18 2 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#18 2 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10]
#18 2 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#18 2 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#18 2 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#25 1 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#25 1 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#25 1 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#25 1 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11]
#25 1 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#25 1 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#25 1 Rep. Gwen Graham [D-FL2, 2015-2016]
#25 1 Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3]
#25 1 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#25 1 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#25 1 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#25 1 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
#25 1 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4]
#25 1 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#25 1 Rep. Mark Takai [D-HI1, 2015-2016]
#25 1 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7]
#25 1 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#25 1 Rep. Ryan Zinke [R-MT0, 2015-2017]
#25 1 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3]
#25 1 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#45 0 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
#45 0 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#45 0 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#45 0 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2]
#45 0 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6]
#45 0 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1]
#45 0 Rep. Aumua Amata [R-AS0]
#45 0 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#45 0 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#45 0 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#45 0 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#45 0 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5]
#45 0 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA13]
#45 0 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#45 0 Rep. David Young [R-IA3]
#45 0 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#45 0 Rep. Brad Ashford [D-NE2, 2015-2016]
#45 0 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#45 0 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#45 0 Rep. Cresent Hardy [R-NV4, 2015-2016]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.