skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Committee Positions

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Committee Positions

A score, giving five points for each full committee leadership position and one point for each subcommittee leadership position, for each legislator.

House Freshmen
most committee positions
#1 1 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#1 1 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#1 1 Rep. Aumua Amata [R-AS0]
#1 1 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#1 1 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#1 1 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#1 1 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10, 2015-2018]
#1 1 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#1 1 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#1 1 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#1 1 Rep. Cresent Hardy [R-NV4, 2015-2016]
#1 1 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#1 1 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#1 1 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#1 1 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#1 1 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#1 1 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3, 2015-2018]
#1 1 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ]
#1 1 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#1 1 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#1 1 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#1 1 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#1 1 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#1 1 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5, 2015-2018]
#1 1 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#1 1 Rep. Mark Takai [D-HI1, 2015-2016]
#1 1 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#1 1 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#29 0 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#29 0 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#29 0 Rep. Brad Ashford [D-NE2, 2015-2016]
#29 0 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#29 0 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA2]
#29 0 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7, 2014-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#29 0 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#29 0 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#29 0 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#29 0 Rep. Gwen Graham [D-FL2, 2015-2016]
#29 0 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#29 0 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#29 0 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#29 0 Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#29 0 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
#29 0 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#29 0 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#29 0 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#29 0 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#29 0 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#29 0 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#29 0 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#29 0 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#29 0 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. David Young [R-IA3, 2015-2018]
#29 0 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#29 0 Rep. Ryan Zinke [R-MT0, 2015-2017]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.