skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2015.

House Freshmen
most bills
#1 343 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#2 293 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#3 292 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#4 261 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#5 259 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#6 252 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#7 244 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#8 232 Rep. Ryan Zinke [R-MT0, 2015-2017]
#9 223 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6, 2015-2018]
#10 220 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#11 219 Rep. Brad Ashford [D-NE2, 2015-2016]
#12 208 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#13 202 Rep. Mark Takai [D-HI1, 2015-2016]
#14 194 Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#15 190 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#16 187 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA2]
#17 179 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#18 173 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#19 171 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#20 169 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8, 2015-2018]
#21 165 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#21 165 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10, 2015-2018]
#23 162 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#24 161 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1, 2015-2018]
#25 160 Rep. David Young [R-IA3, 2015-2018]
#26 159 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#27 155 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#27 155 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#29 154 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#30 153 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ]
#31 149 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#32 147 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#33 145 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#34 144 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3, 2015-2018]
#35 139 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#36 136 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#37 133 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#37 133 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#39 124 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#40 119 Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#41 118 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11, 2015-2018]
#42 117 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2, 2015-2018]
#43 116 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#44 113 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#45 111 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#46 109 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7, 2014-2018]
#47 108 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#47 108 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#49 106 Rep. Cresent Hardy [R-NV4, 2015-2016]
#50 105 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4, 2015-2018]
#51 104 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#51 104 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#53 99 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5, 2015-2018]
#54 94 Rep. Gwen Graham [D-FL2, 2015-2016]
#55 89 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#56 87 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#57 84 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#58 82 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11, 2015-2018]
#59 76 Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3, 2015-2018]
#59 76 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#61 59 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#62 52 Rep. Aumua Amata [R-AS0]
#63 50 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#64 21 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.