skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2015.

House Freshmen
most cosponsors
#1 347 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ]
#2 306 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#3 204 Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#4 202 Rep. Ryan Zinke [R-MT0, 2015-2017]
#5 199 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#6 192 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8, 2015-2018]
#7 186 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#8 181 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#9 180 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#10 178 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#11 154 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#11 154 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#13 139 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#14 137 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#15 134 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3, 2015-2018]
#16 97 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#17 89 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#18 85 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7, 2014-2018]
#19 82 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#20 81 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#21 78 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#22 74 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#23 73 Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#24 71 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#25 63 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#26 62 Rep. David Young [R-IA3, 2015-2018]
#27 58 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5, 2015-2018]
#28 57 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#29 52 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4, 2015-2018]
#29 52 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#31 50 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#32 49 Rep. Gwen Graham [D-FL2, 2015-2016]
#32 49 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#34 47 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#35 44 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#36 43 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#37 39 Rep. Mark Takai [D-HI1, 2015-2016]
#38 37 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6, 2015-2018]
#39 34 Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3, 2015-2018]
#40 31 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#41 30 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#42 29 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#42 29 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2, 2015-2018]
#42 29 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11, 2015-2018]
#45 28 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1, 2015-2018]
#46 27 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#47 24 Rep. Cresent Hardy [R-NV4, 2015-2016]
#48 22 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#49 21 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#50 16 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#51 13 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#52 12 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#53 10 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#53 10 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10, 2015-2018]
#55 9 Rep. Brad Ashford [D-NE2, 2015-2016]
#56 8 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#57 7 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#58 6 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11, 2015-2018]
#59 2 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA2]
#59 2 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#61 1 Rep. Aumua Amata [R-AS0]
#61 1 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#63 0 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#63 0 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.