skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Bills Out of Committee

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Out of Committee

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in 2015 that got past committee and to the floor for consideration. Most bills and resolutions languish in committee without any action.

House Sophomores
most often
#1 9 Rep. Doug Collins [R-GA9]
#2 7 Rep. Ann Wagner [R-MO2]
#3 5 Rep. Bradley Byrne [R-AL1]
#4 3 Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK2]
#5 2 Rep. Garland “Andy” Barr [R-KY6]
#5 2 Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC11, 2013-2020]
#5 2 Rep. Luke Messer [R-IN6, 2013-2018]
#5 2 Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ10]
#5 2 Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH2]
#10 1 Rep. Jim Bridenstine [R-OK1, 2013-2018]
#10 1 Rep. Susan Brooks [R-IN5]
#10 1 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#10 1 Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA5]
#10 1 Rep. Chris Collins [R-NY27, 2013-2019]
#10 1 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#10 1 Sen. Kevin Cramer [R-ND]
#10 1 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#10 1 Rep. Ron DeSantis [R-FL6, 2013-2018]
#10 1 Rep. Bob Dold [R-IL10, 2015-2016]
#10 1 Rep. Frank Guinta [R-NH1, 2015-2016]
#10 1 Rep. Denny Heck [D-WA10]
#10 1 Rep. George Holding [R-NC2]
#10 1 Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL2]
#10 1 Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI5]
#10 1 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#10 1 Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham [D-NM1, 2013-2018]
#10 1 Rep. Scott Perry [R-PA10]
#10 1 Rep. Robert Pittenger [R-NC9, 2013-2018]
#10 1 Rep. Keith Rothfus [R-PA12, 2013-2018]
#10 1 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#10 1 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#10 1 Rep. Jason Smith [R-MO8]
#10 1 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#10 1 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#10 1 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#10 1 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#10 1 Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL3]
#38 0 Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH3]
#38 0 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#38 0 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#38 0 Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA8]
#38 0 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#38 0 Rep. Curtis “Curt” Clawson [R-FL19, 2014-2016]
#38 0 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#38 0 Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA1]
#38 0 Rep. John Delaney [D-MD6, 2013-2018]
#38 0 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#38 0 Rep. Elizabeth Esty [D-CT5, 2013-2018]
#38 0 Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL21]
#38 0 Rep. Tulsi Gabbard [D-HI2]
#38 0 Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC8]
#38 0 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#38 0 Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY8]
#38 0 Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
#38 0 Rep. David Joyce [R-OH14]
#38 0 Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA4]
#38 0 Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA6]
#38 0 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#38 0 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#38 0 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#38 0 Rep. Thomas Massie [R-KY4]
#38 0 Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY6]
#38 0 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#38 0 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#38 0 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#38 0 Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI2]
#38 0 Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC7]
#38 0 Rep. Chris Stewart [R-UT2]
#38 0 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#38 0 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#38 0 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#38 0 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#38 0 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.