skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
California Delegation / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2015.

California Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 694 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#2 684 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#3 629 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#4 563 Rep. Michael “Mike” Honda [D-CA17, 2013-2016]
#5 503 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#6 401 Rep. Lois Capps [D-CA24, 2013-2016]
#7 359 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#8 339 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53, 2003-2020]
#9 338 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#10 327 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#11 326 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#12 322 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#13 298 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#14 260 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#15 245 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#16 233 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#17 218 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA50]
#18 212 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#19 198 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#20 182 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#21 181 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#22 168 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#23 166 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#24 137 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#25 135 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#26 133 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#27 120 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#28 119 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#29 116 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#30 112 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#31 109 Rep. Xavier Becerra [D-CA34, 2013-2017]
#32 105 Rep. Janice Hahn [D-CA44, 2013-2016]
#33 97 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#34 91 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#35 83 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#36 77 Rep. Loretta Sanchez [D-CA46, 2013-2016]
#36 77 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#38 62 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#39 57 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#40 51 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#41 50 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#42 43 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8, 2013-2020]
#43 42 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#44 41 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#45 31 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#46 18 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#47 12 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#47 12 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#49 10 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#50 9 Rep. Sam Farr [D-CA20, 2013-2016]
#51 8 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#52 1 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#53 0 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.