skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
California Delegation / Leadership Score

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Leadership Score

Our unique leadership analysis looks at who is cosponsoring whose bills. A higher score shows a greater ability to get cosponsors on bills.

California Delegation
top leader
#1 0.81 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#2 0.74 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#3 0.71 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#4 0.70 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#5 0.69 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#6 0.69 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#7 0.68 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#8 0.67 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#9 0.64 Rep. Michael “Mike” Honda [D-CA17, 2013-2016]
#10 0.63 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#11 0.63 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#12 0.62 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#13 0.62 Rep. Lois Capps [D-CA24, 2013-2016]
#14 0.59 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#15 0.59 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#16 0.58 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#17 0.56 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#18 0.54 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#19 0.52 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#20 0.52 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#21 0.51 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#22 0.50 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#23 0.49 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#24 0.45 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#25 0.45 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#26 0.44 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#27 0.43 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#28 0.42 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#29 0.41 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#30 0.39 Rep. Xavier Becerra [D-CA34, 2013-2017]
#31 0.38 Rep. Janice Hahn [D-CA44, 2013-2016]
#32 0.37 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#33 0.36 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#34 0.36 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#35 0.35 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#36 0.35 Rep. Loretta Sanchez [D-CA46, 2013-2016]
#37 0.35 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#38 0.34 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#39 0.32 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#40 0.30 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#41 0.26 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#42 0.24 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#43 0.23 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#44 0.22 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#45 0.21 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#46 0.16 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#47 0.15 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#48 0.15 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#49 0.09 Rep. Sam Farr [D-CA20, 2013-2016]
#50 0.06 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#51 0.05 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#52 0.01 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#53 0.01 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. A leadership score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in 2015 is considered, the leadership scores here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.