skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
Texas Delegation / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2015.

Texas Delegation
most bills
#1 395 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#2 286 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#3 277 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27, 2011-2018]
#4 261 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#5 244 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#6 237 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#7 235 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#8 219 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2, 2005-2018]
#9 205 Rep. Rubén Hinojosa [D-TX15, 1997-2016]
#10 192 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#11 178 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#12 177 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#13 171 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#14 169 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#14 169 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#16 168 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#17 163 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#18 157 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#19 150 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29, 1993-2018]
#20 149 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3, 1991-2018]
#21 145 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#22 133 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7, 2001-2018]
#23 132 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#24 127 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#25 115 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#26 114 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#27 109 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#28 108 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#29 101 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#30 90 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#31 89 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6, 1985-2018]
#31 89 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#33 87 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#34 82 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#35 80 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#36 59 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.