skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
Texas Delegation / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2015.

Texas Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 615 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3, 1991-2018]
#2 548 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#3 472 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#4 438 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#5 408 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#6 399 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#7 394 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2, 2005-2018]
#8 388 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#9 370 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#10 346 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6, 1985-2018]
#11 344 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#12 264 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#13 199 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#14 184 Rep. Rubén Hinojosa [D-TX15, 1997-2016]
#15 175 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#15 175 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#17 157 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#18 154 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#18 154 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#20 139 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#21 127 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#22 126 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#23 125 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#24 111 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29, 1993-2018]
#25 94 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27, 2011-2018]
#26 93 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#27 78 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#28 40 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#29 39 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#30 36 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7, 2001-2018]
#31 33 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#32 30 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#33 27 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#34 2 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#35 1 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#36 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.