skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2015.

Senate Democrats
most bills
#1 301 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#2 295 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#3 280 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#4 276 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#5 268 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#6 267 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#7 264 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#8 258 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#9 257 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#10 256 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#11 250 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#12 243 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#13 240 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#14 227 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#15 226 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#16 224 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#17 221 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#18 213 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#19 209 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#20 205 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#21 204 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#22 203 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#23 198 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#24 197 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#25 194 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#26 189 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#27 184 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#28 178 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#29 177 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#29 177 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#29 177 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#32 175 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#33 173 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#34 162 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#35 161 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#36 156 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#37 151 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#38 146 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#39 142 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#40 141 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#41 118 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#42 115 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#43 96 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#44 94 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.