skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2015.

Senate Democrats
most cosponsors
#1 485 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#2 444 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#3 419 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#4 372 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#5 371 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#6 368 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#7 351 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#8 324 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#9 270 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#10 227 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#11 222 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#12 214 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#13 195 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#14 171 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#15 170 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#15 170 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#17 168 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#18 164 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#19 160 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#20 153 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#21 152 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#22 148 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#23 147 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#24 144 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#25 142 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#25 142 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#27 140 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#28 139 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#29 136 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#30 125 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#31 123 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#32 116 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#33 102 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#34 95 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#35 75 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#36 63 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#37 62 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#38 61 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#39 57 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#40 54 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#41 51 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#42 41 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#42 41 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#44 39 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.