skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2015.

Senate Republicans
most cosponsors
#1 579 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#2 457 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#3 382 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#4 363 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#5 300 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#6 293 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#7 272 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#8 269 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#9 267 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#10 264 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#11 260 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#12 258 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#13 257 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#14 250 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#15 246 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#16 232 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#17 219 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#18 215 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ, 2013-2018]
#19 202 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#20 178 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV, 2011-2018]
#21 173 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#22 166 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#23 165 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#24 158 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#25 153 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#26 147 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#27 144 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#28 138 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#29 128 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#30 126 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#31 124 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#32 122 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#33 120 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#34 116 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#35 107 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#36 106 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#37 102 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#38 101 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#39 88 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#40 85 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#41 71 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#42 54 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#43 44 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#44 41 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#45 40 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#46 35 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#47 33 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#48 30 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#49 29 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#49 29 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#51 27 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#52 17 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#53 15 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#54 10 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.